Principle Investigator

Taiyun Chi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dr. Taiyun Chi joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at Rice University as an Assistant Professor in January 2019. He received the B.S. degree (with highest honor) from the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) in 2012, and the Ph.D. degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 2017. In 2018, He was with a silicon-valley start-up, working on extremely broadband millimeter-wave transceiver for 5G communication.

Dr. Chi is a recipient of the Sigma Xi Best Ph.D. Thesis Award (Georgia Tech Chapter) in 2018, the IEEE Custom Integrated Circuits Conference (CICC) Best Paper Award in 2017, the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS) Predoctoral Achievement Award in 2017, the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) Graduate Fellowship for Medical Applications in 2016, the Analog Devices Inc. Outstanding Student Designer Award in 2015, the Texas Instruments CICC Student Scholarship Award in 2014, the Georgia Tech GEDC Fellowship in 2012, and the USTC Guo Moruo Presidential Scholarship in 2012. He is also a co-recipient of the IEEE SENSORS Best Live Demo Award (2nd place) in 2016, and the IEEE RFIC Best Student Paper Awards (2nd place) in 2016 and 2018.

Ph.D. Students:

Yaolong Hu

  • B.E., Zhejiang University, Zhejiang, China, 2018
  • Best Undergraduate Thesis Award of ISEE College, Zhejiang University, 2018
  • Outstanding Graduate Award of Zhejiang Province, 2018
  • ISEE Honor Student Award, Zhejiang University, 2017
  • First Prize of 7th National Mathematics Competition, 2015
  • First-Class Scholarship for Outstanding Students, Zhejiang University, 2014 – 2017

  • Yingying Fan

  • M.S., University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, 2019
  • B.E., Southeast University, Nanjing, China, 2017
  • IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) Graduate Fellowship for Medical Applications, 2021
  • IEEE Energy Conversion Congress and Exposition (ECCE) Student Demonstration Competition Award (2nd Place), 2018
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Thesis Award, 2017
  • Outstanding Graduate of Southeast University, 2017
  • Analog Device Innovative Scholarship, 2016
  • National Scholarship, 2015

  • Qiang Zhou

  • B.S., Peking University, Beijing, China, 2019
  • Second Prize of University Student Mathematics Competition, 2017
  • Third Prize of University Student Physics Competition, 2017
  • Xiaohan Zhang

  • B.S., Tsinghua University, Beijing, China, 2019
  • Best Bachelor Thesis Award of Institute of Microelectronics, Tsinghua University, 2019
  • First Prize of 32nd and 33rd National College Physics Competition, 2015, 2016
  • Undergraduate Students:

    Katrina Ji

  • Class of 2022
  • NSF Student Registration Award for IEEE RFIC/IMS 2020
  • Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF), 2020
  • Robert Chen

  • Class of 2022
  • Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF), 2020
  • Madeline Stern

  • Class of 2022
  • Jack Tomkiewicz

  • Class of 2024
  • President’s Honor Roll
  • Noemi Moreno

  • Class of 2024
  • Rice Sustaining Excellence in Research (SER) Scholars program
  • search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close